O. V. Vijayan Sahitya Puraskaram

Ottupulackal Velukkuty Vijayan (2 July 1930 – 30 March 2005), commonly known as O. V. Vijayan, was an Indian author and cartoonist, who was an important figure in modern Malayalam language literature. Best known for his first novel Khasakkinte Itihasam (1969), Vijayan was the author of six novels, nine short-story collections, and nine collections of essays, memories and reflections.

Born in Palakkad in 1930, Vijayan graduated from Victoria College in Palakkad and obtained a master’s degree in English literature from Presidency College, Madras. His first short collection was published in the year 1979 – Short Stories of Vijayan. His popular short stories are – Oru Neenda Rathriyude Ormakkayi, Asaanthi, Balabodhini, Kadaltheerathu, Kattu Paranja Katha, Poothaprabandham and Other Stories, Kure Kathabeejangal, O. V. Vijayante Kathakal and Arakshithavastha. His popular collection of essays include – Khoshayathrayil Thaniye (1987), followed by Oru Sindoora Pottinte Orma, Sandehiyude Samvadam, Vargasamaram Swathwam, Kurippukal, Ithihasathinte Ithihasam, Haindavanum Athihaindavanum, Andhanum Akalangal Kaanunnavanum and Ente Charithranewshana Pareekshakal.
His works on cartoons are – Ithiri Neramboke, Ithiri Darsanam (1990), Memoirs: A Cartoonist Remembers (2002) and Cartoon: Tragic Idiom O.V. Vijayan’s Cartoons & Notes on India (2006). A few of his works has been translated to English of which Infinity of Grace and The Legends of Khasak need special mention.

Vijayan authored many volumes of short stories, which range from the comic to the philosophical and show a diversity of situations, tones and styles. Vijayan translated most of his own works from Malayalam to English. He was also an editorial cartoonist and political observer and worked for news publications including The Statesman and The Hindu.

The O. V. Vijayan Sahitya Puraskaram (O. V. Vijayan Literary Award) was instituted by the Naveena Samskarika Kala Kendram, Hyderabad, in 2011, in memory of Vijayan who had spent his last days in Secunderabad. The award consists of a cash component of Rs.50,001/-, a memento by Kanayi Kunhiraman, and a citation. The award is given to the best book of a writer during the year. Sara Joseph, Zacharia, Vijayalakshmi, B Rajeevan and Ushakumari PA are the winners of 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015 respectively.
View Gallery